thoughts and opinions on UNM SOM's PA program?

Guest daviduri

Guest daviduri

UNM School of Medicine's PA program is one I'm seriously considering. Unfortunately, there's a real dearth of information about it on the web. This forum is no exception -- completely empty!

Is there anyone on here who is attending, has attended, or has talked with someone who attended this program? I'm eager to hear thoughts on its relative merits, etc.

Thanks in advance.

• 1 year later...
Guest Recon Doc

Hi there,

I'm a current student at UNM's PA program. I'm a first-year and I was in your shoes about 2 years ago. There's not much info out there on this program and I can answer questions if you like.

Guest O2 Hit

Great school! I'm a first-year student. UNM's program is affliated with the School of Medicine (big plus) and you take your Fall and Spring classes (first year) with the med students. Same lectures, same tests. Emphasis is placed on PBL during some classes. I had no PBL experience during my undergrad but I have learned quite a bit from what few experiences I've had with it.

Don't be discouraged because it's an undergrad program. It's highly competitive and 99% of your classmates already possess an undergrad degree. An emphasis is placed on rural health of which, I'm a big proponent.

• 4 months later...

How hard is it to get accepted into the program?

As of now (although I'm still early on in my academic career- still an undergraduate), my grades are fair and my experience limited to CNA training and Recreational Therapy at a rehabilitation center/long term health-care.

any suggestions?

• 1 month later...
Guest sampayam

Hi,

There is a sure dearth of info on our school. I am in for the Class of 2010 and excited. Please respond.

I am here to answer questions as well.....atleast the ones for which I would have an answer.