Need some perspective....Let me explain

I'm trying to decide whether or not to pursue PA school (I know, I know), and I'm having a hard time.  Let me explain...

I graduated from dental hygiene school in 2011 after which I worked as a public health dental hygienist for 1 year.  I knew during dental hygiene school that it wasn't necessarily for me, but I needed a trade and I'd already given up scholarships, etc to transfer to dental hygiene school.

After working for a year, I moved to Ecuador to live and work in Quito and learn Spanish. It was great.

After that year, I moved back to the US and got my masters in health sciences while I taught as a TA at a local university and continued to temp dental hygiene full time.  I'd decided that the master's would help me because I knew I really didn't want to do dental hygiene and I'd started developing issues with my wrists that made it painful to work full time as a hygienist.  

Fast-forward 2 years and I'm extremely unsatisfied with my career in public health partially due to the horrible pay and partially because I miss the patient contact.  I currently work in Health Literacy and while I get to spend a lot of time training providers it's really not the same as being a provider.  Also, job availability in public health in my area consists of the state health department and a medical science university.  Dental hygiene jobs are non-existent with a new class graduating each year, but I'm working on getting my wrists rehabilitated through occupational therapy.  

I have a couple of dental hygiene friends who've made the switch to PA and it seems like a good career for getting back into patient contact and making a living for me and my family.  I actually love the idea of being a middle level provider, and have considered the NP route, but it's too long.  I'm not able to move because my husband and I own an electrical business here.

After that bit of history, my question is two-fold.  Is PA a good investment?