EM CME Course

I'll be attending this course and thought I'd tell others about it as well. Sounded interesting, especially for those just graduating or getting into EM. With only 8 participants per course there is probably a little more hands-on time and instructor interaction than the EM Bootcamp. Also, sounds like some good procedure instruction involved as well. 

Definitely an interesting idea and the thought of small group sessions seems great, but I wonder how the 'flipped classroom' will come into play. They say the small group sessions will provide an opportunity for question/answers between the group and the faculty member, but I'd hope it would be a little more structured than just a QnA session.  Looking forward to hearing your experiences... please let us know!  

• 1 month later...

Attended this course a couple weeks ago and figured I would give ya'll a report back on it. As a recent grad, I registered for the course as a jump start to working in the ED or for acceptance into a residency since I was applying to several. I was considering one of the typical EM bootcamps but the dates on those were farther out than what I was looking for. 

Full disclosure: I will be starting the EM residency at Univ. of Iowa this summer. I had just scheduled my interview when I registered for this course and found out I was accepted to the residency prior to the course. 

Overall the course was fantastic and very informative. The folks that ran the course top notch and good teachers with great knowledge. Many of the people involved with their PA residency are active in this class. 

I was emailed 12-13 prerecorded lectures to listen to ahead of time. The lectures covered the major topics in EM and focused on the major life threats/complaints and the "can't miss" stuff. Length of the videos were 25-45 minutes with most around 35.