Another "can I get in" post!

Ok, I know there are so many " My gpa is low, can I get in posts?" but I feel mine is different since it was so long ago! :)

So I have an undergrad degree from 2000 with a GPA of 2.3. Looking back, it's embarrassing! 

I went back to Rad Tech school and graduated with a 3.8. That program was 72 credit hours. I've been a CT Tech in a Level 1 Trauma Center for 11 years, which is great experience.

I'm starting my pre req's in January, which will take me about a year and a half. 

I hear that the most recent 60 hours of a GPA is mostly looked at. Will my higher GPA counteract my crappy GPA from 15 years ago?

I feel it will be ok due to my maturity and work experience, but it's always in the back of my mind that my old GPA will haunt me forever!

I know there are so many other factors to get into PA school, but I don't want my GPA to automatically eliminate me.

No, it's all worth the same in terms of GPA calculations. Lots of schools will consider your upward trajectory and will put emphasis on recent work, however, if you don't meet their minimum GPA standards, they'll never look at it in the first place. Look for schools with different minimum GPAs -- I think there are some 2.75 as the min.

No, it's all worth the same in terms of GPA calculations. Lots of schools will consider your upward trajectory and will put emphasis on recent work, however, if you don't meet their minimum GPA standards, they'll never look at it in the first place. Look for schools with different minimum GPAs -- I think there are some 2.75 as the min.

Yeah, that's a bummer. If I calculated correctly, my community college grades plus  undergrad plus Rad Tech gives me a 3.1. I guess I better ace my pre-req's!

I forgot my freshman/sophomore GPA is better than my total undergrad GPA. Hopefully it'll all add up to be somewhat decent. I am nowhere near the person I was back then!