Current UCF student looking for a shadowing opportunity in Orlando, Fl.

I am a Senior graduating in the summer and will be applying for the 2011 admission year for PA schools. I have previous professional experience working for a medical malpractice law firm and shadowing a plastic surgeon in the OR room. I have full availability starting May 2 and would appreciate any opportunity presented.

Thank you,

Danielle Key

• 11 months later...

Danielle,

Did you have any luck with this? I'm a student at UCF applying for 2012 admission for PA schools and want to know how your experience was. Did you apply to any of the Nova locations or UF?

Also, if you have any doctors/PA's you shadowed and are willing to accept more students, I would love to get in contact with them.

Thanks and good luck with your endeavors!

The pre-health advising office with Dr. Lopez has semester internships available. I would stop by ASAP and ask for the application in the HPA building as they have deadlines for accepting students. The only shadowing I was able to do was through them. The pre-med AMSA and pre-PA groups on campus have guest speakers and some of them pass on their information to allow shadowing. Join one of those groups if possible. I applyed to Nova Orlando and Fort Lauderdale, UF, Keiser, Barry, and Yale. I was offered interviews for all but UF. From others I have meet, I heard UF tends to prefer more healthcare hours than the other Florida schools. I applyed through CASPA early and received all my interview dates by October. I was accepted to Nova Fort Lauderdale and withdrew my application from some other schools. For letters of recommendations, most schools want 2 letters from health care professionals and one can be from your choice. I originally did a packet from UCF, one doctor I shadowed, and a former employer. I was contacted by Nova and Keiser to produce another healthcare letter. I hope this helps and let me know if you have any other questions.

• 2 weeks later...