Please Critique My Personal Statement

Hello Everyone!

I hope you can help me by critiquing the rough draft of my personal statement. I still have to work on the last paragraph shown and write my conclusion. Thank You!

I remember when I was a high school freshman, and I heard the blaring sirens of fire trucks driving by to a call that would forever change my life. When I looked out my bedroom window from the Bronx and saw with my own eyes the cloud of debris that was once the World Trade Center, I was sincerely able to appreciate the concept of life. This well-known tragedy made me realize many more lives are also jeopardized on a daily basis due to poor health. I was then inspired to pursue a healthcare profession where I could actively participate in treating patients.

After high school, I enrolled at .... University as a proud and motivated first generation college student with a concentration in the sciences. Towards the beginning of my undergraduate experience, my parents filed for a divorce, and my grades suffered. I tried to picture myself as a successful professional as a means of motivation to help make my schoolwork be the ultimate priority once again. However, this was a bit difficult because I wanted to interact with patients similar to a doctor or nurse, but felt no passion to pursue either profession. I expressed my dilemma to my cousin, a cancer care supervisor at Winthrop University Hospital in New York, and she advised me of the many career options in healthcare. The only one that seemed to be in most accord with my personal objectives was the physician assistant, a profession that I had never heard of before. After doing my own research on the roles and responsibilities of a PA, I felt like this was the career choice that suited me the best.