USDA.gov "MyPlate" replaces Food Pyramid

The USDA has scrapped the old Food Pyramid for "MyPlate"

They've cut Fats/Oils from the scene completely, and emphasize variety without putting the recommended serving amounts that we all remember.

Also suggests that half your plate should be fruits/vegetables, water over sugary drinks, lean meats for protein, and low fat or fat free milk.

Thoughts?

Hi! I've been a dietitian/diabetes educator/personal trainer for (gasp) 20 years. Now waiting to see if I have been accepted for PA school. The thoughts behind this model is that people of all ages/backgrounds/cultures etc can better relate to a picture of this sort than the old pyramid. Honestly I have preached personal responsibility and led by personal example my entire life (am 42 years) but still cannot change behavior of people and I have had it. Of the thousands of patients I have worked with over the years I can only think of a handful that truely make significant lifestyle changes (read: sacrifices) to lose weight. I going to be an orthopedic PA to help athletes (and others) get back into the game of life (activity) by assisting in fixing their knees, hips, etc....