Pre-PA, need some opinions and advice please...

Guest PAhopeful'12

Guest PAhopeful'12

Hi everyone,

I am a new poster on these boards but have been reading threads for awhile now. I have a bit of a complicated situation and would like your advice and help, if you don't mind.

I am (obviously) interested in the PA field, otherwise I wouldn't be here. I am currently a graduate student at a school of medicine, working on a Ph.D. in micriobiology and immunology- our lab does a lot of translational/biomedical research, working with (specifically) HIV or HCV positive patient blood samples, doing histology staining, things of that nature. I am in my second year of the program and will be leaving it soon, because I am strongly drawn to the clinical side of things and would like to actually practice in a clinical setting, rather than do research the rest of my life. I should note that when I applied to Ph.D. school I was torn between the medical field and the research and chose the research field for various reasons, not the least of which was that I am in a stipended position with benefits, whereas my medical education will be an out of pocket expense... worth it, of course, but I digress. I now know that the Ph.D. was the wrong career choice.