I'm a first-semester student in a fairly new PA program.  I had a 4.0 GPA for all my postbac coursework (40+ credits), but I'm struggling just to keep my head above water.  I'm not failing any of my classes, but I'm afraid I might wind up with below the minimum 3.0 GPA this semester and be on probation.  My program allows you to be on probation only once during the entire program....if you fall below a 3.0 a second time, you're out.  At least, that's the policy as stated in the student handbook.

So I'm wondering:  if I do wind up on probation, do I cut my losses and leave the program at the end of the semester?   If it seems I'm at risk of dropping below a 3.0 a second time and getting booted, this would seem like the best option rather than to waste more time and tens of thousands of dollars.  On the other hand, I do know that: 1) other students are struggling with grades, and 2) from all I've read, PA programs will do everything possible to not lose students.  Our cohort has already lost two (ostensibly, one for career choice reasons and the other for health reasons) in the first 7 weeks.

Can anyone (especially those of you who are done or nearly done) shed any light on this?  Thanks!

There was a lot of soul-searching in PA school. For me it was especially in the first semester. Students have to figure out what study techniques work best for them in each class. Exams get blown at times. It’s all part of the learning experience. As you noted, you are not alone.

What I remember was wondering if I would pass, and that was a strange concept for someone who did well in an academic career that by then had already stretched several decades. I eventually settled on a philosophy of wanting to pass if only to see what would happen next.  I kept trying new techniques and eventually got through a rough patch or two.