3 years in, looking to change jobs...

Hello,

I have been working in ob/gyn for 3 years now and I am considering leaving. This was the first job I took after graduation. I took the job because I really liked my boss - he is very personable, knowledgeable and always wanting to learn the next best thing. Also, I grew to enjoy the continuity of care. However, his type B behavior is finally getting to me. I am very detail oriented and take documentation seriously, he does not. It's getting to the point where I have caught several potentially bad mistakes (i.e. writing normal on a not normal u/s - potentially uterine cancer and his reply is, "oh, whoops.") I am so sick of walking into empty charts. I really like him as a person but fundamentally we work very differently. In addition, the work climate is very hostile and people don't help each other (i.e. "not my pt, so I won't help you").

At this point I am frustrated and anxious. I am nervous to apply to other jobs because I lack confidence and do not feel adequately prepared. My boss never took the time to train me, I had to learn everything on the fly. I don't know if that will be satisfactory elsewhere.

Is it ridiculous to think I could find a work environment where people pull their weight and work together toward a common goal of what would be best for the pt? Should I consider a different route with my PA degree? What else could I do? I do truly love helping people and making them better and enjoying a better quality of life, but I am burnt out. (I also room all my pt,s answer triage and messages on top of seeing pts by myself). I am not that informed about an administration type of job with a PA degree....

I suppose I am looking for advice and other people's perspectives on the matter.

Thank you for taking the time to respond (if you do).