New Grad - Rural Medicine

Hey Everyone

I am a new grad PA with rural EM experience an an ER tech in my previous life.  I have always wanted to practice in emergency medicine, and feel my personality fits the field nicely.  I have done 2 EM rotations, and have ACLS/PALS/ATLS certs.  Feel good with most procedures, except the low volume/high risk ones (intubation, thracostomy, crich - which I feel I could do in a pinch, but would certainly prefer more practice with).  I have gotten good feedback from providers I have worked with regarding my clinical skills.  

I have a possible job offer from a rural clinic in a 1,500 person town in the mountain west.  It is certainly not a receiving facility, and is more of a critical access shop.  The job involves ED call, clinic and nursing home coverage.  There is a doc in town, but shifts would be worked mostly alone with phone supervision.  

This is definitely my dream job - I'm not much of a city person, however, I don't want to be in a situation where I put my patients and my license at risk.  I know I can handle a lot of what comes through the doors, but as a new grad, I know would be shuffling trying to manage many patients (taking extra time to research and make sure i'm not missing things).  I don't want to make a bad decision for myself, but mostly for my future patients.  it isn't the stabilize and transfer I am worried about - it is the patients who are on the cusp of sick vs. not sick.  

Basically, I am asking for honest advice from folks who have been in a situation like this.  I don't want you to think I am some cocky new grad who thinks he knows everything.  If there is anything I am confident about, it is that there is a lot I don't know.  I just don't want to pass up a good opportunity that I think I would be good at.  

Thanks in advance.

Guest Paula