On The Right Track?

I'm currently an undergrad (rising sophomore), majoring into bio. Up until several weeks ago, I thought I wanted to do nursing but then a friend in the bio department introduced me to becoming a PA and after a few hours of research and talking to him, being a PA sounds a lot more like what I want to do (I want to do stuff like preform exams, treat patients, and all that other fun stuff!). I've already taken A&P, and next year will be taking all my bio. classes needed to catch up, along with micro, gen. chem 1, org. chem 1. (Next summer I plan on taking gen. chem 2 and org. 2 as well, but at a community college, to help cut costs.) From there I will continue with all my other major required classes as well as other pre-reqs (any recommendations?). I'm doing well in my classes, especially the sciences (I've always been wired with that mindset). Next semester I also plan to take EMT training at night and start getting my HCE @ local hospitals, since I know many schools require loads of hours. On top of that, I plan to continue my volunteer work at my home hospital during summer/breaks, being a mentor for at risk youth during the school year, doing church-related volunteer/mission trips, and shadowing a PA or two. So, what I want to know is, am I on the right track for all this? I know I'm going to have to work my butt off the next several years, but I'm ready to hit this head on, because for me, this is what I truly believe my calling in life is. Any advice on the next steps to take would also be greatly appreciated! Thank you all so much!

Sounds like you are taking all the right steps! Many programs require at least 1000 hours and EMT is a great way to get that exposure. Best of luck to you! Keep the GPA up and try to keep it at 3.5 or higher. Many schools have around a 3.5-3.6 average GPA.