Seeking advice on ICU Opportunity

Hello,

I would like some input on working in intensive care. I just interviewed for a position in the MICU. I have 3 years experience in family practice and 1 year in internal medicine (no critical care experience). They understand this and are willing to train from the "ground up". I would be the first PA (or mid-level) coming into this unit. They have described the job as alot of training over time, many procedures, patient assessments, and over time becoming an integral part of the team. One ICU physician I interviewed with stated I would basically develop (over time) the same expectations, skills and experience as an ICU physician. My thoughts are that it would be one of the most challenging paths for me to go at this time. I know I would learn so much and am thinking it would be positive for me in the long run. The concern is I feel like I would be jumping from "M to Z" and definitely out of my comfort zone. I also have concerns about if this would help me in the long run or limit me too much. I may want to go back into IM in a few years (perhaps not) but wondering if I did take this job, should I moonlight after a while just to keep outpatient skills up and does this sound like a great opportunity or a "red flag" situation? I would love feedback from anyone with experience in the ICU. Thank you.

Hello,