Mental Health Technician

Any previous mental health worker/tech plan on or have applied to PA school***?

If yes, how was the experience being involved in psyche?

I am interested in EMT (job market is crap), Rad Tech Aide, and Mental Health Tech. 

I am due to begin training as a RT-aide but having diversity never hurts.

***I already searched both general and pre-pa sections and found nothing on experience; pros/cons etc.

I work as a PCNA (nurse assistant) in the float pool at a hospital that has many psych (behavioral and mood disorders) and medical units. I do the same thing the behavioral techs do on the floor, but make much less (has to do with being PRN and non Union). I can say that behavioral techs have it much much easier than the nurse assistants on the medical floors and make much more than they do. We both went through the same training.

Behavioral techs don't really get much medical exposure since the nurses handle all the meds and the majority of the patients are independent. You just report to the nurses what you observe the patients doing and try to reduce anything getting out of hand. Then it can get physical and IMs are given and you'll start hearing the words Ativan, Haldol, Geodon, Benedryl, and other psychiatric drugs.

It's decent exposure, but a nurse assistsnt on the medical floors would be better or an ER position. Plus, I don't think there's many positions in psych for PAs, at least there are none at my hospital. Let me know if you'd like to know more, I love working in psych.

I was curious about the day to day operations as a technician in psyche. The position is in a psychiatric hospital and the tech is responsible for monitoring patient safety, co-leading therapeutic activities (groups), assist with group programs, but nothing about taking vitals (plan to get this from the other positions). I'm interested in FM, IM and Peds as a PA, but just wanted to create a diverse application and make myself a well-rounded professional.