Transition to Locums

I have been working family practice with combined er for about 9 years.  With the recent healthcare changes and increasing hours I have considered switching to locums ER or Urgent care work.  My husband is self employed so his schedule is very flexible to assist with our children.  I'm just wondering what experience people have with Locums work, benefits, downfalls, appx salaries, etc.

Thank you in advance.

Well, I can only provide my perspective.  I have been doing locums on and off for 20 years, mostly when I get sick of the politics and crap at a permanent job.  I am currently in a locum contract with a VA, but am hoping to get a perm job with the VA.  You cannot simply look at the hourly rate.  There are many tax free additives.  For example, I only make $40/hour.  However, my company (CompHealth) also pays my 1K rent per month, my car rental ($500/month), and cable TV.  Additionally, they will pay travel, licensing, DEA, etc.  I find I do better with locums than in a perm job.

Now, most companies will not give you sick or vacation pay, but I believe they are re-thinking this, particularly for good travelers who complete long-term assignments.  I have certainly given them my feedback on this. However, the flexibility is a tremendous bonus.  I love going new places and meeting new people.  I am a single woman, no kids, and love the freedom to go where I want. I never feel lonely.  However, not everyone is like me.  But you are married with a family, so you will not be alone.  You can work as much or as little as you want.  I get emails and calls every single day with work offers.  If you create a good reputation, as I have, you will never want for work. And I do mostly government work.  You will earn around $50/hour for non-government work.