MSW Seeking School Advice

Hello All,

I am a masters-level social worker with apx 7 years field experience (3 post-masters) and am interested in going back to school to become a PA with a focus on psychiatric medication. However, I am rather concerned about the acceptance rates of these programs. Virtually every program appears to have the same 3-5% acceptance rate. As an MSW, I have very little background in hard sciences. In order to complete the basic prereqs, I'll need 1-2 years of additional schooling in many particularly rigorous classes. I am worried about investing year/years of time and money into prereqs, only to be denied because the programs are just really competitive. I am also worried that my lack of hard-science background and educational background in social/behavioral sciences will weaken my application. Is there a such thing as a "safety" or at least "safer" school in PA applications? I would sure feel more confident if I at least had the hope of a fallback, even if it was a less-desirable school/location.

Perhaps more importantly, is there a way to search through these programs to find one that will be a better match and increase my odds? For example, programs seeking lots of hours of experience, (I have many many thousand) interested in professionals from other disciplines, option to explore psychiatric disciplines, 2-year program, etc. I havent found any way to evaluate my fit within these 180+ programs except to go to the website of each one and manually read through all of their information, then read between the lines to figure out what they actually want. I'm happy to relocate for the degree, so location is less of an issue than fit.

Thanks!