Career Change Applicant within Healthcare - Help!

Hi folks,

First, of all thanks to all the posters. As I've been reading, they've been extremely valuable in understanding the landscape.

A little about me:

I graduated in 2007 with a bachelors in Marketing. I went on to take a job for a consulting firm specializing in hospital financial processes improvement (think insurance verification, billing, insurance collections). Part of the reason why I took the job was an interest in healthcare. Over the years, I received several promotions and am now a manager in the firm. At this point in my career, I'm looking at a career change to a more direct patient care experience. My question is, would my "healthcare experience" give me any leg up or would I just be brushed aside since the business side of healthcare isn't what a traditional applicant would have experience in. My undergrad GPA was just under a 3.8. I would still need to take a lot of the pre-reqs and GRE and understand this would likely mean roughly a year of coursework before I could apply. In that year I would likely be able to amass some good shadowing time, but probably not a lot of patient facing clinical experience. Would I have a shot?

Thanks!

OK: now you are about 30, I gather. Once you get through PA school, I suspect you will have good luck getting a job -- especially in private practice somewhere -- as the combination of skills (PA, marketing, and billing) would make you especially valuable.

As far as getting from here to there, as noted elsewhere, schools have different requirements regarding healthcare experience and I would be surprised if your experience would count. Further, without getting your hands dirty somewhere, it might be hard for you to know that you would actually enjoy healthcare.