Weak GPA

So I thought I had a 3.0 GPA but I actually graduated with a 2.9. I have a bachelor's in Psychology and I'm looking to take prerequisites to boost my GPA. I want to take classes at a 4-year university but they have limits on how many credits you can take as a non-degree student. And then when I looked into post-baccalaureate programs, they all require at least a 3.0 GPA to get in. So...is my only option is to take all these prerequisite courses at a Community College? I need to take at least 24 credits in prerequisites, all science. And I absolutely need to boost my GPA. What should I do? Please be honest. Help. I'm beginning to feel hopeless.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

You do not have to be in a specific "post-baccalaureate" program. You can just start with some community college classes and these are acceptable to many if not most PA programs I believe. Now most PA programs are impressed by upper division science courses, and some PA programs require one or more upper division science courses. These type of courses are probably not available at a community college (not where I live anyway).

Look at the requirements for PA programs you are interested in. It may work out well if you take a year of community college then a few courses at a four year university. And your GPA should be up around 3.2 (?) or higher by the time you finish your prerequisites - if you get mostly A's. You better get mostly A's anyway if you want a reasonable shot at getting in.

Really you're in pretty decent shape if you're ready to commit to doing really well in the prerequisite science courses (they're harder than Psychology!) Try to get some higher quality health care experience if you can. Preferably including drawing blood and giving injections of some sort. PA schools don't seem to be overly impressed with nurse aide or physical therapy aide stuff. They want blood! :)

You are not in a hopeless situation at all. Good luck to you!