PA vs. MD

I know this post is probably going to annoy or get flamed by a bunch of people, so I apologize in advance. But I have to bring up this debate (and internal dilemma) here so I can get an objective opinion from actual PA's. I'm a paramedic who has pretty much completed pre-reqs for PA school and only need a few for med school. I would like to know why some PAs and PA students went the way they did rather than something like med school. Currently I'm just looking at how the time frame, cost, and stress med school will have an effect on my life. But I actually wrote out a pros and cons list and would like to hear others input (correct me if I'm wrong).

Pros:

PA - less time to licensing and practicing

- less money for school

- Some autonomy

- good money

- generally respected for their knowledge and opinion by their colleagues and pts.?

- less liability and paperwork?

- can move freely through fields of practice?

- hours are better than MDs

- more time for extracurricular activities (i.e. at home with family, travel, gym,

running a business, etc.)

MD - Complete autonomy

- Most respected in their field

- Most hands-on time with patients for procedures in respective fields (especially

surgical)

- In charge

- More knowledge and education

- Most job security (excluding malpractice)

- Can practice worldwide

- Really good pay

Cons:

PAs - Less respected for their knowledge in the grand scheme of medicine

- Less opportunity for being sought out to do presentations or seminars.

- Less respect from insurance and drug companies

- Less education and knowledge than an MD

- Less job security

- Capped salary

MDs - roughly 7-10yrs before practicing with full autonomy

- $200K+ for school

- ~80hrs/wk residency

- >50hrs/wk attending or practicing

- less time for extracurriculars (as previously mentioned)?

- A lot of liability and paperwork

- Lots of stress