credit hour requirements for classes?

My wife has just began her career as a physician, and we don't plan on moving any time soon (I realize that lack of flexibility will make it that much harder to get in to PA school). So, I am in the unfortunate predicament of trying to get into a program that is (relatively) near. There are 2 in the state in which I reside, that are drivable (Butler and IUPUI, both in Indy) and one in Ohio (Kettering, Dayton). I have a degree in psych (so I need quite a few bio/chem classes with labs) and am in the process of trying to get the pre-reqs done to satisfy these schools. About 2/3 of them overlap between the 3 schools, but there are a few odd-balls that would only apply to one school (such as physics for Butler, nutrition for IUPUI, and biochem and microbio for Kettering). 

Of the 3 schools, only Kettering has specific credit hour requirements for each pre-req (in particular 8 credit hours for A&P 1/2). My local CC has it as 6, although they do offer and advanced class for another 3. I am sure that they use these requirements to weed out applicants that only have a 6cr for A&P 1/2 (or 3cr. microbio or biochem class, when according to their site, they call for 4cr hours). Has anyone run into this? For people that already have degrees in these areas (bio or chem) has taking a class that is short 1cr. kept them from applying to certain schools?

Does anyone have any insight into this phenomenon? It seems that I'm shooting myself in the foot to cut out 1 of 3 schools that I am trying to get into, on account of them wanting a specfic number of credit hours per class.

Thanks!

tim