Looking for guidance -- please

I am looking for your wisdom and guidance as I start thinking about the PA profession.

I am currently a Senior Administrative Assistant for a department that handles mental/ spiritual distress in patients (at a very prestigous cancer center). I have been doing this job for the past 9 years. Prior to this, I worked as a medical receptionist for  while completing my Bachelor's degree In Psychology. So, all in all, I have been in the medical field for about 13 years (with little direct patient contact). About 2 years ago, I met a wonderful PA who specialized in kids with Autism (as the mother of his patient), and I was so impressed by skills and knowledge that I started learning more about this profession.

I am sorry if this all sounds "naive", but I am looking for guidance as of what steps I should take next. I am ready to start taking pre-requisite courses as a part time student next year. I graduated  college in 2004. I am also the mother of 2 young children. Would any of my years working in these 2 jobs in the medical field count towards anything? I have come in touch with hundreds of patients and family members, listened to their stories just by sitting at my desk and coordinating, but I am not sure any of it counts as anything.

I pretty much have my heart set on this and I believe I will make an wonderful PA one day. I am smart, caring, extremely compassionate and very detail oriented and have always had an interest in medicine.

Please advise.

Thank you in advance

Christine,

The profession can always use another motivated practitioner. It sounds like you are on your way with prerequisites. .