Engineer considering a career change

Hello everyone,

As mentioned in the title, I am an Electrical Engineer who is extremely interested in changing careers and becoming a PA.  I have a few questions (listed below) and would really appreciate any and all advice/recommendations.

1 - Addressing employment gaps:  I wanted to provide some background information if that helps.  I initially came to the US on a student visa, earned a BS in Electrical Engineering and went back to my home country for work.  However, 2 weeks after graduation I ended up getting very sick and was hospitalized for 3 months. It took me another 3-4 months to fully recover, search for jobs and start working.  After working as an engineer for 3.5 years, I got married to my boyfriend (who is american) and moved to the US again.  This time it took me 6 months to process my permanent residency, during which I was not allowed to work.  So, I have 2, 6 month gaps in my work history.  Will this raise a red flag in my application?  Should I address it upfront in my essay?

2 - Status as Permanent Resident:  As I mentioned above, I am a legal permanent resident right now.  I realize that most business/engineering schools do not distinguish between citizens and green card holders, however, I have heard from friends in med school that the medical profession in general treats permanent residents as international students for admission purposes.  I have emailed several PA programs to discuss this, but does anyone have any idea if this is true?  Will I have a harder time getting in?

3-Increasing GPA:  I graduated with a 3.1 cGPA and I realize that this is very low.  Unfortunately, engineering classes were very challenging and in hindsight, I should have worked harder.  I am taking classes in community college to satisfy pre-reqs and also to increase my gpa  My question is should I enroll at a 4-yr university or is it ok if I continue at community college.  Do ad-coms weigh 4 yr college credits higher?