Best First PA Job- Inpatient or Outpatient?

Hi everyone,

I am a PA student graduating in December. I am browsing different open positions in my area and am torn between applying for an inpatient or outpatient job. I want to work somewhere where I will have a good base of knowledge that can be applied to different jobs down the road in case I decide to change positions. For me, I am thinking along the lines of an inpatient internal medicine/hospitalist position vs. an ER/urgent care type job. I'm leaning more towards inpatient right now, but I'm afraid I may feel like I'll be stuck working inpatient and won't ever feel completely comfortable if I ever decide to work outpatient. 

How translatable are inpatient skills to outpatient positions? What are your thoughts on this? Thanks.

Hospitalist is an extremely rough first job. IF you go that way, make sure to get in writing a specific plan for your new employers to get you up to speed on the details - try to shoot for something like what MD interns get, with protected time for reading, journal club, lectures, and other structured ways to get deep into the details of nephrology, cardiology, etc without having to just slap something together on the job.

Rounding on MICU patients you've never met because you've been out for a couple of days and then having to go admit an 85-year-old with a med list longer than the lyrics to *The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald* and then having to decide if Mrs. Johanssen's K is where we want it yet even though the guy yesterday forgot to order it is not for the faint of heart.

My job is 50/50 office vs inpatient. I like the variety and feel that what you learn in one setting helps you with the other. In the beginning, I was on the phone a good bit of the day with my SP or a more senior PA, but now I am on my own most of the time (unless I need help).