Need chemistry motivation

I am taking the 2nd half of inorganic chemistry this semester and I am afraid I will be bored to death with it just like I was during the 1st half. Even though I studied and made an A on the 1st half, I still feel like I haven't learned anything about chemistry. I felt like it was more a math class dealing with chemistry elements. I need some advice on what I should learn from the class and what useful knowledge I could get out of it. Passing the class doesn't really cut it for me, I need to have goals in order to pursue something but the only goal is for now is to get a good grade in this class so I could apply for PA program. Anyone have interesting ideas on what useful knowledge I could get out of the class?

Guest guthriesm

Chem 2 is more ground work - look at it as the foundation for your ultimate goals and dreams. It is slightly more interesting than 1 and the labs are usually a bit more entertaining. Still, it is about mastering the absolute basics which will allow you to jump straight into the more demanding ones - analytical chem, organic, biochemistry, etc. Focus on bonds, interactions, and reactions as they will be vital in your future! Good luck!

I hated genchem1, genchem2 was great and more fun for me, loved ochem, didn't take biochem. Most of the inorganic classes were math and memorizing I felt like.. I didn't really have an appreciation for what chem meant till I got to ochem. Some programs will take you with just 1 semester of inorganic.. or none like Emed mentioned above.

How important are people finding their chem classes in PA school? Have you found that you could have gotten by with none or very little chem? Most of my med school friends have said that they have very rarely used chem at all in school so I'm interested in the PA perspective. Thanks!