Vacation time during application cycle

I feel somewhat embarrassed to ask this. My story is that I am looking to book a month trip to my home country to see my grandparents early next year. I haven't been back home for over a decade and this is about the most preferable time to do it for personal reasons. There are a lot going on. I was thinking of going around Christmas time, just beginning of Dec to early Jan, but there're conflicts at work with not being able to get off that month.

I am concerned that while out of the country, I would receive an interview invitation.

I know different programs have various times where they hold interviews. This is my first time applying and I am still waiting on a few things before I can submit the application. Though, looking at the schools I'll be applying at, some students get notified for interviews as early as September. It can go on towards the end of the year to early next year.

Generally, do more interviews happen before the end of the year...for most of the seats? Would January be a bad month to be away? Or should I try to push it to February/late February? This trip is very important to my family and I, as well as getting into a PA school for me... If I get an interview during my time off I probably will have to book a one-way trip home anyway.

I don't know when every school has their interviews; you could contact the schools you will be applying to and find out. When I applied, there were November and February interviews and nothing during the holiday season.

If it were me, I'd go home and make sure that I included a phone number in your applications that would be answered by someone during the period you are out of the country.

Go home and enjoy.