Practicing without state license

I'm a recent grad out in rural Idaho and I'm in the process of getting licensed by the state but have not received my license yet. My SP really needs me to start and says I can start right away under what he calls the "husband umbrella". I've never heard of this and can't find it anywhere on the Idaho BOM website, but I've found plenty of places that say I cannot practice until I am licensed. My SP is adamant but I'm pretty uncomfortable goin forward until I'm licensed. Has anyone heard of this "husband umbrella"? Is there a precedent for practicing with only national cert and no state license? Thanks in advanced.

I'm a recent grad out in rural Idaho and I'm in the process of getting licensed by the state but have not received my license yet. My SP really needs me to start and says I can start right away under what he calls the "husband umbrella". I've never heard of this and can't find it anywhere on the Idaho BOM website, but I've found plenty of places that say I cannot practice until I am licensed. My SP is adamant but I'm pretty uncomfortable goin forward until I'm licensed. Has anyone heard of this "husband umbrella"? Is there a precedent for practicing with only national cert and no state license? Thanks in advanced.

Might exist in Idaho, but I doubt it. Sounds sketchy. Have you tried googling it?

State medical board site: "No practice is permitted prior to issuance of a license number. Applicants are advised not to enter irrevocable contracts, purchase or sales agreements, on the assumption that permit/licensure will be granted."

I'll say it again, it is each PA's responsibility to know the rules/regulations for their respective practice state. It took me 2 1/2 minutes to find the answer to your situation.