Quality of experience /admissions

Greetings,

hello there folks, I am very curious to know how important the quality of the pre-pa experience is to gaining admissions to a pa program. I am recent ucla alum who has decided to take the pa route after completing a pre-med degree. As an undergrad I had volunteered as a care-extender at the ucla Ronald regan hospital for a year and since graduation (a year ago) i have been working as a patient care tech at the USC keck hospital (cna) . I have spent the past 3 months working in icu and I have learned alot. .however, what has been incredibly deflating has been that I have meet a number of RNs who have also decided to go the pa route. I feel that they could easily transition to a pa career and that programs would prefer them for that reason. How do I compete with them? Is there any edge at all - besides the fact that their previous training has been in nursing and not medicine? What is more, my grades are not spectacular as my cumulative and science gpas are a precarious 3.3 with no repeats or f/d/ withdrawl grades.

Thanks

waryaa

People apply to schools with a wide range of types of healthcare experience. You certainly don't have to be a nurse to get in!

Rather than speculate about your chances, (1) visit a program or two and talk to the clinical advisors there and (2) apply and see what happens.

I got into several schools as a CNA. The majority of students at my school (which is fairly competitive) have experience much poorer than CNA (pharm tech, volunteer only, nutritionist, etc). We have one former nurse. I would say CNA is one of the stronger professions to apply to PA school these days. This board misrepresents the fact that a lot of pre-PAs have only volunteer experience.