Interested in Nutrition & Alternative Healing

Hi everyone, this is my first post :)

I'm starting PA school in August and I couldn't be happier! I have always been interested in preventative medicine and healing with whole foods and healthy lifestyle choices. When I graduate I'd like to spend at least a couple of years working in Family Medicine, and I'd love to advise patients in nutrition and alternative therapies rather than just write them an Rx right away. I'm also very intrigued by Chinese medicine/ Aruveyda, etc. I don't have any formal training in any of the above, but was wondering if any programs exist for PA students or PAs to be educated in this stuff, as it isn't part of traditional medicine's curriculum. Also, is there a PA role that incorporates these holistic and alternative therapies?

Just to be clear- I wouldn't feel complete if I studied alternative medicine therapies without having a traditional medicine education. (In case you are wondering why I didn't just go to school for nutrition or chinese medicine :;;D:)

Thank you!

Prusha

Much of that stuff isn't covered in PA school because it isn't evidence-based. There are some alternative therapies that have evidence-based research behind them in certain applications(i.e. acupuncture) but those are generally regulated professions that require training and licensure. I would suggest spending some time browsing the literature while you're in PA school and then start looking at possible positions in integrative medicine, usually in places like cancer centers.

Most of the evidence based trained practioners who also offer Complimentary Alternative Medicine that I know continued their education after their initial liscensure. This consisted of seminars, classes and self study.