pre-pa pref undergraduate degree

hello everyone i just graduated with my AA and have done alot of science classes already i was wondering if there are any current pas or pa students that can shine some light on some undergraduate degrees they earned before going to pa school, i know typically most choose biology or chemistry major but i was looking into nutrition or exercise physiology are those well undergrad degrees and will i have a chance to be accepted into grad school? btw i live in florida just to have an idea of where i will be attending school

I majored in biochemistry, but one of my friends majored in Italian and English and she's in PA school now. As long as you do well in the pre-req classes, have a good GPA, and have good letters of rec you'll be a competitive applicant. Be careful, because some schools don't accept credits from community colleges. Also, make sure that you get a lot of health care experience! Some schools require up 2000 hours.

Thank you for your reply I heard diff responses from diff students some say you don't have any chance without a science major others say the undergrad doesn't matter... But hearing that a Italian major made it to pa school is awesome

Any degree is beneficial as long as you take the required pre-reqs, but in some cases many realize that getting a heavy science degree include the pre-reqs needed and there is no need to spend more money taking extra classes that may not go towards your degree.

For example:

Business Major:

Hypothetical, need 30 science credits for pre-requirements. None of these classes will count towards your degree plan as a business major, it will just cost you more.

Biochemistry Major:

30 science pre-requirments are all also needed for your degree plan and as well as classes needed for some graduate program, so it would inevitably save more money this way.