Letting pre-req classes age while getting HCE

When I made the decision to go back to school to pursue PA, I got right on the pre-requisite classes and also took an EMT-B course. Now I'm in my last semester of pre-requisites and I've got some HCE including two camp EMT jobs and now nursing assistant. I feel like I need more and higher quality HCE to be a competitive applicant, especially because my 3.0 overall GPA is pretty low.

My question is: If I spend the next year or two taking a phlebotomy course and trying to get on as an ER tech, then some of my pre-requisite courses will be three or four years old. Is this a problem? Or is pursuing the ER tech idea a good one. I really need the practice at patient care because honestly I suck as a beginning nurse assistant. I'm real slow and uncomfortable around all the wires and tubes and the supersick patients. I'm also unfamiliar with much of the equipment used in the hospital setting.

I don't really even want to work at a hospital I wish I were a back office medical assistant instead. Ultimately I'd like to work as a PA in a walk-in urgent care clinic. There is so much to learn I want to learn how to do EKG's and casts and listen to breath sounds but mostly all I get to do are vital signs, diaper and bed changes, over and over and over.

What's my best course of action here?

You should be fine with the pre-reqs being 4 years old. Most programs don't want them to be more than 5-10 years old, just depends what programs you're looking at.

I worked for the last year as an ER Tech here in the Phoenix area. Here an EMT/CNA can work as a tech w/o any phlebotomy training, at least at Banner Health. Not sure how it is in other states, I'm sure some of the other ER Techs can answer that, but in Arizona we had a pretty broad scope (IV saline locks, blood draws, urinary caths, splinting, EKGs, etc.) I personally think medical assistant would be a better choice of school than phlebotomy if you're going back for HCE.