Do I have a chance?

I’d reallylike to attend a physician’s assistant program at a school in Illinois howeverI’m left guessing if I can even get into one. I have a Bachelors degree in Criminology,Law, and Society with an overall G.P.A. of 3.5/4.0. I want to begin taking myprerecs and am very interested in applying for Midwestern University but I can’tafford to pay for these courses if they lead me nowhere. My goal was either tobecome a Nurse Practioner or a Physician’s Assistant but I prefer the Physician’sAssistant route for various reasons. Anyone know if it’s possible to get into MidwesternUniversity with my background? I also have a small child to think about andparents to take care of so I could continue going to school but not for much longer,and again don’t want to waste time in lengthy chemistry courses for nothing. Iknow Midwestern’s average incoming G.P.A. is a 3.7. I also don’t have anyexperience in a hospital or patient setting, just a year of taking care of mygrandmother who was a stroke victim which changed my mind about my careerchoice. Any advice that could help my future application?What would I need on my GRE to make up for a lower G.P.A.?

With a GPA that is currently at or slightly below the average for your program, and no healthcare experience, what are you bringing to the table that would make them want to admit you, KWIM?

For you to take the classes you need for your prereqs (assuming you've taken zero) plus get healthcare experience/shadowing, you're looking at two years of nearly full time school and at least 10-20 hours a week of work in healthcare. (Or one year of breaking your neck at school--taking o-chem, micro, and A&P in the same semester, and one year of full time work.)

Now, disclaimer: I'm not an admissions expert, this has just been my experience and what I have been told.