Are all patient care jobs like this?!

I'm a part-time undergrad student who has been bouncing back and forth between pursuing a healthcare career and pursuing a law/economics public service type career. In the process of trying to finally come to a decision, I decided to shadow a physician. He worked at a VA hospital. His residency had been in family med, but he was doing emergency medicine. I shadowed him for a total of about 20 hours, and his job seemed absolutely miserable. He spent more time sitting in an office shuffling paperwork than he spent seeing patients. It was simply one of the most mind-numbingly boring experiences of my life, and if I spent my life doing it, I'd cut my wrists before I hit 50.

So my question is this: are all patient care jobs like this? One of the career paths I've been considering is to be a primary care physician assistant and work in a VERY rural area. Seriously, the ideal job site for me would be one only accessible via off-road vehicle or horse. I want to treat patients who, without me and my supervising physician, wouldn't have access to. In fact, I've often fantasized about going off into the Andes mountains and treating the indigenous tribes out there! That would be perfect. :-D

Sorry, I kind of went off on a tangent there. So yeah...if this is the type of career I want, is that achievable? And if I do achieve it, am I still going to spend more time doing paperwork than actually treating patients?

I never worked for the VA, but I did work as a medic in the army and my guess is this physician does a lot of administrative duties while several PAs do most patient care. That's what it was like in my brigade. 6 PAs saw patients (1 battalion each) and 1 MD saw patients only with more complex cases and did a lot of admin work. In that setting the PAs were with patients probably about 60-75% of the time (or discussing a care plan with medics or other providers) and doing notes the remainder of the time.