Will I make it?

Hello, I'm currently attending a community college and I will be receiving my associates next semester. I have a 3.75 GPA. I am taking honor classes, I'm in the phi theta kappa honor society, i have been volunteering for 1 year at the hospital, I am an officer in the international club. My grandmother was a physician assistant and she is my inspiration. What are my chances of getting accepted?

I have 3 w's on my transcript. I dropped some of my classes last spring because my dad was having heart attacks and other health issues so I had to take care of him daily. Will it affect my chances of getting accepted?

Thanks y'all

I don't think that the W's are going to be the reason you would not be accepted. PA programs are looking at the whole picture of a student -- including being a well rounded student, with LOTS of work experience. Please keep in mind that although your volunteer time is a great addition to your medical experiences, most PA programs do not accept volunteer or shadowing hours towards work experience. Most or all programs require a minimum of hours prior to applications and continued work experience before starting the program. That's one of the best things about PA -- it's about work experience and NOT numbers/grades. If you're the smartest in the book and all about being a "smart number", medical school might be a better fit. However, a PA program concentrates on a much larger span of requirements for application -- WORK EXPERIENCE, grades, recommendation letters, GRE scores, etc. GOOD LUCK!!