Application question

I have a BS degree already and I've just completed the 5 pre-req and have all A's, I'm applying next november (2013). Has anyone been accepted w/o taking pathology, biochemistry, pharmacology, ethics and biostatistics? I need to know if my pre-reqs are enough.

I plan to start shadowing a PA in January.

Thanks

Hi TK2U! According to SJU's website,

Candidates also are encouraged to have a strong science background with completed coursework in pathology, biochemistry, pharmacology, ethics and biostatistics. Minimum requirements for all applicants include 16 credits in the basic sciences taken within five years of entry into this program. Courses include:

• Microbiology with lab - one semester

• Anatomy and Physiology with lab-two semesters

• Chemistry with lab- one semester

So it seems as though they are not required but looked upon highly if a student completes them. I wonder the same though since I only have pathophysiology (which isn't exactly pathology), this random psychopharmacology and the addictive process elective I took (which isn't exactly pharmacology) and a philosophy class (if they accept that for ethics). Did you submit your application without indicating any PA experience Have you received any correspondence from the school yet?

hi, are you applying for the upcoming year?

you need path, biochem for sure. Biostats not sure, i took stats instead and basic ethics. i am currently a 2nd year at stj majoring in PA. this is pretty much my last year on the main campus before i head off to the professional phase.

i hope this helps

Hello nyzgirl0929, thank you for joining the thread! It always helps to have someone who has gone through the process. =)

Since you mentioned pathology and biochem are needed for sure, are they unofficial requirements, since the website says otherwise? =(