First Draft, 250 words, please rip apart!

Here is my first draft for my application to the Interservice Physician Assistant Program. I have a 250 word limit, hence the brevity. Please feel free to rip apart, criticize, and share your impressions/thoughts. Thank you!

Unlike many, I cannot say that being a physician assistant (PA) has been my sole life's journey. Before joining the Air Force I was a pre-veterinary student. My college job at a mortuary profoundly impacted me and changed my path completely. The satisfaction of helping people through life's darkest hours made me realize that veterinary medicine would never be enough. Despite mounting student loans and the fear that I might be losing my mind, I decided to reevaluate my life and seek out my true calling.

It wasn't until I was stationed at Nellis AFB that I became familiar with the PA profession through my own medical care. After borderline obsessive research and some serious soul searching, I know that being a PA is the perfect fit for me. The ability to provide direct patient care throughout my career, the fast pace, and the lifelong commitment to education all motivate me to become a PA. To build a solid understanding of the profession, I have shadowed in family medicine and orthopedics. Observing the day to day activities of a PA firsthand has been an invaluable experience and reaffirmed my decision to become a PA. My unique background and perspective on life and death will make me an excellent PA. Eventually I hope to put the training I receive in IPAP to good use through humanitarian work with a focus in women's health. I have the ability, I have the drive, and I am excited to embark upon this journey.