New grad CV surg job offers - which to choose? Advice please

** I am actually a member of this forum, but am posting anonymously to preserve the privacy of all parties involved during contract negotiations**

Hello. I am a new grad who is trying to decide between 2 different job offers, and would like the input of some senior surgical PAs as to which might be the best position for a single, new grad to take.

The details:

Both positions are in CV/T surg

Position/offer "A"

- located in a small college town, next major metropolitan city is approx 1-1.5h away

- Majority of time will be spent in one hospital, but will be credentialed to work in several

- Private hospital, team consists of 3 surgeons and 2 other PAs, no residents or fellows

- No transplants, no assist device cases, no TAVR, no robotics

- 80-90% 1st assisting & EVH, 10-20% floor work. Includes both thoracic and cardiac cases, occasional CT trauma.

- Position is salaried, hours are M-F with required weekend & night call TBD

- no extra call pay

-$1750 CME/yr plus all lisc & recert fees paid, 8 paid holidays, 4 wks vacation & sick time

- relocation assistance is available

- cost of living is low

- social and cultural activities in the town are modest

Position/offer "B"

- located in a major metropolitan city

- Highly prestigious teaching hospital affiliated with well-known university

- team consists of a dozen PAs, 8+ surgeons, numerous fellows, etc.

- cardiac cases ONLY, 1500+ cases each year.

- transplant/assist device center, robotics program, TAVR & min. invasive program,

- position would be 3 12h shifts/wk, variably divided between coverage of the "step-down" unit and assisting the fellows with opening & closing in the OR & EVH.

- Wkend & holiday OR call is compensated extra above salary, with 4h min paid regardless of how long you have to come in.

- NO relocation assistance is available

- $1500 + 5 paid days CME per yr, 9 paid holidays, 5+ weeks vacation & sick time