Preventive Medicine vs. PA school + MPH

Hello,

I am an undergraduate student, a junior specifically. I have been deciding/battling with the big question: What is it that I want to do with my life? After going on a medical mission trip to Nicaragua, and studying abroad in Honduras this past summer, I have no doubt in my mind that I want a job where I can change the world, particularly in health care. I've always wanted a job where traveling was a component in the career along with humanitarian efforts. I have been debating between Physician Assistant school as well as becoming a doctor, but the answer isn't clear to me yet.

I met one girl who will be attending medical school this upcoming Fall, and she told me how there was a residency called Preventive Medicine. I was immediately interested. She mentioned it briefly, but I began to do further research on my own and had some unanswered questions.

Being a student who is debating between two professions, I want to try and make the right choice. What are the job opportunities like for Preventive Medicine physicians? How is the job security? I would love to teach in academia, research, help organize NGOs/support NGOs, and volunteer for extended periods of time outside of the country. Would this be possible with Preventive Medicine? If I did a combined dual degree program with a Masters in Public Health along with a Physician Assistant degree, would I be able to do the same type of work? The reason I ask is because if there is an alternate, shorter route to do what I love then I would take that route to get into the working world faster!

If you want to do research and international work, go the MD route. You can do lots of interesting work while in med school, including during the summer between 1/2 years. You could also do an MPH while in med school (or after). International law is more restrictive for PAs, as are the research opportunities (PAs are trained for clinical work, not so much for research).