new grad - just wanted to clarify

Hello! I'm a new grad pa in primary care. I have some patients who incidentally are found to have hepatic steatosis on imaging. I wanted to make sure this approach sounds reasonable - can you give me some input? 

1. fatty liver on imaging - figure out the cause is the first step. likely 2/2 alcohol or obesity but confirm by checking some labs  (hepatitis antibody tests (A, B, C), AST, ALT, alk phos; up to date also says to check plasma iron, ferritin, TIBC, serum gammoglobulin level, ANA, antismooth muscle antibody, anti-liver/kidney microsomal antibody-1) 

----> are these done for every single patient or only for patients who you don't have a clear cause for their condition?

2. patients with fatty liver need hep A and hep B vaccines

- this only applies to patients with negative antibodies, right? if I have a patient with positive hep A antibodies, they don't need the vaccine, right? 

- these patients with fatty liver need the full vaccine series - not just a booster, correct? 

3. encourage patient to lose weight if NAFLD

4. refer if decompensating

5. if it's not biopsy confirmed, we don't check for fibrosis do we? unless the NAFLD score reaches around F3 or F4? 

I'm sorry if these questions seem silly. I'm still trying to figure out textbook medicine vs real world medicine and try to strike a balance

• 4 months later...
On 6/5/2020 at 9:04 PM, runnerpa-s said:

Hello! I'm a new grad pa in primary care. I have some patients who incidentally are found to have hepatic steatosis on imaging. I wanted to make sure this approach sounds reasonable - can you give me some input? 

1. fatty liver on imaging - figure out the cause is the first step. likely 2/2 alcohol or obesity but confirm by checking some labs  (hepatitis antibody tests (A, B, C), AST, ALT, alk phos; up to date also says to check plasma iron, ferritin, TIBC, serum gammoglobulin level, ANA, antismooth muscle antibody, anti-liver/kidney microsomal antibody-1)