Elective Rotation Help!

Hey all!

I start rotations in July and we just recently got the paperwork to fill out for rotations. I get only 1 elective rotation and a selective (repeat a core rotation or ortho/urgent care) which I have chosen ortho. I'd love any additional input on what to pick! Our core rotations are 2 primary care, internal medicine, emergency medicine, psychiatry, women's health, pediatrics and general surgery. 

I know people do rotations in PANCE heavy topics (cardio) but since I only get 1 elective I'd like to use in an area of interest. I don't know what I want to work in just yet. I've been an EMT for 7 years so emergency medicine seems logical, but I always did say that's not for me anymore. Rotations will tell. I've always had a big interest in OB/GYN but I've got that already so I'd like something slightly different. Here are some things I came up with, any ideas or input? I don't like the same thing every day, I like puzzles. 

• Gynecologic Oncology
  • Heme/Onc (though I was told we don't currently have any electives in this area so I'd need to pick between surgical or medical oncology and I wanted a sprinkle of both)
  • Trauma Surgery
  • Infectious Disease
  • Genetics (anyone know anyone in this field as a PA? I haven't been able to find much on it)
  • Medical Examiner/Pathology (NYP ME's Office in NYC)

Thank you!

WHEN is your elective?  In my program you had to declare your choice about 1-2 rotations ahead of time.  Sucked if it was your second rotation (happened to me) but awesome if it was later in your rotations because you may have a better idea of what you want to practice.

Heme/onc is typically med onc (surg onc is almost always a separate service, as is gyn onc).  Whether heme/onc is separate from med onc will depend on the facility.

ID is great bc in most fields you'll be dealing with infections.

Recently saw a few jobs posted for genetics for PA (super curious about this one myself).