Interview Tips/Recommendations

I've got a few EM residency interviews coming up in the next few weeks, and I was wondering what tips anyone could give me to make me more competitive at the interviews. In PA school my GPA was 3.8 and I did two rotations in the emergency department. Before PA school, I was a tech in the ED. I've applied to 7 residencies, so I'm hoping to get into a least 1. 

Thank you so much!

Congrats on the interviews! One issue I’m running into while planning which programs to apply to is that none line up with our graduation date! We’re done in December, Pance early January. Only 3 or so start in the spring, otherwise most start dates for residencies are in the summer or fall. Are you running into this? How long are you willing to wait after graduation to start a residency? Stretching it out unil the summer is the most I think I’d be willing to do, waiting until the following fall seems ridiculous. 

Edited by Rudeboyirie

16 hours ago, Rudeboyirie said:

Congrats on the interviews! One issue I’m running into while planning which programs to apply to is that none line up with our graduation date! We’re done in December, Pance early January. Only 3 or so start in the spring, otherwise most start dates for residencies are in the summer or fall. Are you running into this? How long are you willing to wait after graduation to start a residency? Stretching it out unil the summer is the most I think I’d be willing to do, waiting until the following fall seems ridiculous. 

I decided to apply to residencies that start in the fall as well. I knew that I wanted to do emergency medicine, and in the state where I'm from, it's nearly impossible to find a job in the ED with no experience. By applying to more programs, I have a greater chance of getting into at least one. It also helps that my parents have been very generous and have allowed me to live with them rent-free until a residency program starts.

• 4 weeks later...