Hospital medicine new grad struggling to adjust

I am a new grad PA who has been working in hospital medicine for 3 weeks. I did not do inpatient internal medicine rotation in school.  So far I work with an attending. S/he assign 3 - 6 patients to me. I see the patients come up with an assessment and plan and present. What is I struggling the most with is that all my patients have been in the hospital at least 2 days (not doing admissions yet) and have already had labs, imaging and diagnoses from providers who already saw the patients before me. Since all my rotations were outpatients or acute care. My mindset was that a patient will present to me with symptom, then I do and H&P and work up to come up with a differential but in hospital medicine the patients that I am seing for the first time are already being treated and I feel like I have to work backwards trying to figure why this lab was order why this medication... and I spend way too much time reading that chart. Can someone please share with me what your strategy is. For example if you are seing a patient for the first time who has been in the hospital for 10 days and you have to see them, get H&P, present them and write a progress note. Where do you start? Do you review all the previous progress reports, labs, imaging? Everyone I ask tellsbme that I will come up with my own system and that I need to give myself time, but I need to organize myself somewhat. I need even the simplest system to build on. I am feeling so lost right now.