Rough first draft

This may be a soup sandwich at the moment. I may end up completely re-writing. Please brutalize. Any comments appreciated. Thanks, Will.

I drove to and from work today with a smile on my face, it was a good day. This was one of my days to see patients in the base emergency room. I do this once or twice a month when I’m not away from home to maintain and sharpen my patient care skills. I am an Independent Duty Medical Technician (IDMT) in the Air Force. I treat and diagnose active duty patients under the supervision of a physician using protocols that define my scope of practice. Today I treated eight patients with complaints ranging from a simple sore throat to guy that I suspected, correctly, of having appendicitis. He is in recovery as I write this. I knew I would be writing my personal statement tonight, so I was happy to have something to write about. That said, I don’t wish appendicitis on anyone. It would have been a good day even if I only treated a dozen colds. I simply enjoy seeing patients. This is why I would like to become a physician assistant.

I have been a military medic for 19 years, 9 of those years as an IDMT. I have always steered myself towards the more challenging duties. Even during my early career as a hospital medic, I gravitated towards the tougher positions. I “cut my teeth” working in emergency rooms and learning as much as I could. During those early years I was also pursuing my education with hopes of leaving the military and moving on to a civilian career. Then war broke out.