Pre-dental to Pre-PA?

Hi all,

I'm a graduate student in an MS in Biomedicine program and have always thought about becoming a dentist. Right now I am worried about the many years spent in dental school as well as the cost of dental school. The school that I have a good shot at getting into is supposed to cost ~$370k (in-state) and I will already have about $36k in loans from the MS degree when I graduate this year. I have never wanted to own my own practice, so I'm not sure if taking on that amount of debt (easily over $400k) makes it worth becoming a dentist to get paid ~$125k starting salary as an associate dentist. I also don't think the military scholarship is a good fit for me. I would be graduating dental school at age 28 going on 29 and I am female and would like to have a family. PA school sounds attractive since it's 2-3 years and costs ~$100k or less and you still get a good starting salary. I think I would be happy with either career since I'd get to help people and think critically about medical issues, but having $400k of debt hanging over me for such a long time sounds miserable.

With these concerns, I have been thinking about PA school, but I do not have the direct patient contact hours. I also haven't shadowed any PAs yet, since I've been focused on dentistry. I am a mental health counselor through the Crisis Textline, so maybe some of those hours would count. I also got my EMT license in high school, but never used it because of the serious commitment the rescue squad wanted while in college. I remember loving my EMT training. I am still within the re-entry period, so I could get it back and use that to get my hours. I will have a busy school year ahead completing this Master's degree and I will apply to either dental school or PA schools in May/June 2020, so I will have a gap year after submitting the applications. During that time, I could greatly increase the amount of patient contact hours.