Apply now or next year?

Hi everyone,

I am trying to figure out if I should apply this cycle or next. I am a junior (senior next fall) at Michigan State Univeristy.

I have a 3.62 GPA and a science GPA around 3.5.

I have around 60 volunteer hours at a tuberculosis testing clinic, on a Med/Surg Floor at a hospital, and for an Archive for Research on Child Health Project. I am volunteering in the ER this summer.

I work at a Business development center 15 hrs/week but I just got a job as a Respite Care Provider for children with disabilites. I just started so I dont have many hours, but will have a lot by the time I would start a program. I would apply to mainly schools that dont require many hours.

I have about 20 hours of shadowing a PA.

A member of the Student Health Advisory Council and the Pre-PA club.

I will take the GRE in July.

Advice? Thank you!

Hi, I graduated from U of M and was in a similar position to you between Junior/Senior year. If you have people lined up to write letters of recommendation and are prepared to write a good personal statement, you could probably apply broadly right now and get in at least somewhere. If you take a year off after Senior year to work, take additional classes, volunteer, and make sure you have your LORs and PS lined up, you can probably get into many schools and have more of a choice in where you go. I went for the latter option. Also, be careful if you do the former because some schools, like Rosalind Franklin, start in May and it can be hectic to be finishing Senior year and having to move and start a new graduate program in just a few weeks. I know of one girl who had to do her undergrad finals early and miss graduating with her friends in order to be starting PA school at RF!

If you're ready, go for it! However, I waited until I graduated to send in my app and I enjoyed the 10 months off. Now that I'm back in school, I really think the academic break was beneficial.