Military PA vs. MD

Hi,

Ive been around these boards for a while but have not found much info regarding the differences in being a military PA vs. an MD.

Im wondering, what are the main differences in the respective roles of each in terms of autonomy, responsibilities, specialties, deployment, bonuses/pay, rank/promotion, etc?

I have read several military PA responses on the boards describing their experiences but wanted to get an idea of how much different it might be as a MD.

BTW, Im 23, just graduated undergrad (3.9 cumu/3.75 sgpa, 1350 GRE, 4 yrs EMT, etc.). I have all the pre-reqs for med school or PA school done so Im really just trying to figure out what to expect going down either path in the military. I plan on doing civilian PA or med school with some sort of HPSP.

BTW I know very well the differences b/t PA and MD in the civilian sector, just not the specifics regarding the military. Sooo...not trying to beat the dead horse.

Thanks

Nickster,

As a vet, I am thankful that people continue to want to serve. I think that there are a few things you should figure out before you join, though. Which profession are you really interested in? You'll only be in the service for a part of your working life, and you'll be happier in the long run if you figure out which career works best for you.

Also think about which branch of the military you'd like to be a part of. Talk to vets, and talk to PAs or doctors at different bases. See what benefits and problems there are in each branch. I was in the Air Force (not as a PA), where promotions are hard to come by, mission tempo is high, and Airmen in my career field were deployed on average 270 days a year. I wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else. I spent three years on an Army post serving with Soldiers, Sailors and Marines, and I was baffled at the way they were treated by their commands.