Academic Reference

Hello everyone, 

I am currently working on getting my applications ready for admission into schools for 2020 and I have a question in regards to academic references. I graduated with a Bachelors in Science in 2009 and started re-taking classes in 2016. However, all of the classes that I have taken in the last three years have all been online and therefore I did not have a lot of contact with my professors. Some additional background to acknowledge is that I am currently a Paramedic and attend multiple continuing education classes each year that are often taught by the same person. So my question is who do you think would be a better academic reference for me, and would a reference from one of my continuing education teachers count as an academic reference? 

option1: Ask my professor from my last class that I attended. (Less personable, but coming from a professor from a university)

or 

Option 2: Ask one of my continuing education teachers from work (This option allows for maybe a more personable reference since they have known me for almost 9 years)

Thanks in advance!

Sarah 

Honestly just check with the programs that require an academic reference and see if they will accept the CE teacher.

I was in a similar situation and opted to NOT apply to programs that required an academic reference because mine were all just so far removed from my life.  I considered it the school's loss and moved on - I even asked them directly and they insisted it couldn't be substituted.