Air force PA- no military background

Hey! I recently got into PA school and was interested in the HPSP program or joining the Air Force after I graduate & doing the five weeks training in Alabama. I have no military background, but everyone I have talked too thinks the AF is a great idea because of how much I'll learn and the opportunities I'll be given. However there are some negative things online (suicidal people, unhappy with their job etc). So I was just hoping someone could provide me an honest opinion on what it would be like being a PA in the air force. I have no problems with traveling, working long hours or deployment. I am aware of what I am getting into, but why is it that people choose to stay 100-200k in debt when they could just join the military and have their education or loans paid off? Is the military really that bad that people would choose 15 years of loan repayment instead? Basically I want to know why there are some people who just really dislike being a PA in the air force because once I sign my contract, I can't just get out of it. 

Thanks for the input!

• 1 month later...

@utpa17

Bottom line, military is not for everyone. Doesn't matter what the perks or benefits are, if you don't have the personality and patience to be in the military it won't be worth it. It's like asking why become a PA if you can become a doctor. The perks, doctors get paid more, the status, the MD behind their name, its just few more years of school?

I have no experience with AF or not a PA yet, so I can't comment on AF PA life. But I was enlisted for 7 years in the Navy, and some days it sucked, and some days it was great. Now, for many, all their experiences may have been bad so no matter what you say or offer, they will never go back in. They would most likely chose the alternative.