Prerequisite Course Advisement

Hello everyone,

I am a non-traditional nursing student interested in exploring a career as a physician assistant. Here is my current strategy: My GPA today is 3.9 halfway through the nursing program. I also have three years experience as a home health aide and will shadow this spring.

Spring 18: General Chemistry I w/o lab.

Summer 18: General Chemistry II w/lab.

Fall 18 - Spring 19: Complete first year of clinical placements.

Summer 19: Organic Chemistry w/lab

Fall 19 - Spring 20: Complete second year of clinical placements and graduate.

Summer 20: Biology II - unifying principles AND General Chemistry I lab.

Final transcript for core prerequisite: Statistics, Psychology, Sociology, Biology I - Cell biology, Biology I - Unifying Principles, Chemistry I&II w/lab (but one lab will be non-concurrent), Organic Chemistry w/lab, AP I&II w/lab, Microbiology for Health Science lecture (non-competitive but accepted as fulfilling a core requirement) w/competitive micro lab.

I have three important questions at the moment. Firstly, may I take general chemistry without the lab as I go about my current program, but then complete the lab during a later semester? Secondly, is my microbiology lecture being non-competitive code for me being rejected until I retake the lecture a second time?

Thirdly, what should I do about an unusual transcript? My transcript will list both biology courses the same way if I take one of the courses over the summer. Confusing, right? Allow me to explain: