Thoughts on applications

Guest HanSolo

Guest HanSolo

Having seen several (10+) friends go through this process, and now going through the process myself, I wanted to share a few things. I'm not an expert by any means, but having just received word that I was granted an interview at 11/11 programs I applied to, there is definitely a method to the madness. After reading hundreds of posts on this forum, i see the same themes coming up time and time again. Thus, the purpose of this thread is to help provide guidance to some of those questions. 

1) GPA trend matters more than overall GPA. I didn't have above a 3.0 GPA until junior year. That being said, you still need to be within the ballpark of the accepted students. Nobody wants to take on an academic liability, and if you haven't proven yourself recently, then why would anyone want to take a chance on you now? 

2) In terms of application materials, your personal statement is the most important part of your application. It's a difficult thing to write. Start writing it in January of the year you want to apply. Finish your personal statement before CASPA opens. Everyone has numbers. You distinguish yourself with your statement. 

3) Research where you want to go and apply selectively. Can't stress this enough. For example, if a program says they emphasize in-state students with a military background - and you are from out-of-state without a service record - then don't bother. 

4) Apply by June 1st for any program with rolling admissions. Just do it and you'll never wonder if you were too late to be considered. Don't think that just because you submitted an application by the deadline that you have a shot. You need to get in there before someone else.