Are 4 LOR's bad?

I'm in a slight dilemma for who to request LOR's from.

So far, I have 1 PA who I've shadowed, and a past employer (healthcare related, but not a hands-on patient role). I'm very confident they both can write me a very strong letter.

I was also planning on asking a medical director at my company who can also write a very strong letter. Though some schools require a professor. I do have a professor I worked with very closely, he would definitely be ok with submitting one for me even though I graduated college over 3 years ago. However, I have heard from multiple students that he uses a generic copy/paste LOR for all his students, which can possibly lack in substance.

Should I ask for all 4 anyways? 

Or pick between the medical director and my professor?

Thank you!!

It's only bad if you find out later you needed that 4th slot for a requirement one of your other programs had that wasn't covered by what you already entered. The 5 slots exist in case your programs have conflicting requirements for the 2 or 3 they actually are looking for. Otherwise, its not a bad thing, but keep in mind a lot of programs will only read the ones they asked for.

My concern was that say for example a school requires one from a PA, one from a supervisor, and one from a professor. I was under the impression that they may not look at all 4 LOR's, they may only look at a combination of 3 out of the 4, and if one happens to not be the ones they require, that it would hurt my application. 

I guess a more precise question would be, do programs read every letter to acknowledge that I have fulfilled their requirement for the source?

Guest HanSolo

I am sure they will find what they need if it is there. They understand you are applying to many programs, and different programs have different requirements.